This Friday (10), the list of games awarded at the 2023 Golden Joystick Awards was finally revealed, concluding its 41st Edition. No surprises, The highlight of the event was Baldur’s Gate 3from Larian Studios, which broke a record with no less than seven wins — including Definitive Game of the Year.

Following, Resident Evil 4 Remake won the PlayStation Game of the Year award, while Alan Wake II was voted Critics’ Choice — absolute wins for horror fans. In this same context, Starfield was awarded Xbox Game of the Year, while The Legend of Zelda Breath of the Wild was named Game of the Year for Nintendo.

In a curious redemption arc, Cyberpunk 2077 won the Best Expansion Award with Phantom Liberty and manages to clear his controversial reputation with quality. See the full list below:

Games awarded at the Golden Joystick Awards 2023

  • Best Narrative: Baldur’s Gate 3
  • Game in Progress Prize: No Man’s Sky
  • Best Visual Design: Baldur’s Gate 3
  • Studio of the Year: Running Studios
  • Best Game Expansion: Cyberpunk 2077: Phantom Liberty
  • Best Indie Game: Sea of Stars
  • Best VR Game: Horizon Call of the Mountain
  • Best Multiplayer Game: Mortal Kombat 1
  • Best Audio Design: Final Fantasy XVI
  • Best Game Trailer: Cyberpunk 2077: Phantom Liberty
  • Best Online Game: Valuing
  • Best Gaming Community: Baldur’s Gate 3
  • Best Gaming Hardware: PSVR 2
  • Revelation Award: Coccoon / Geometric Interactive
  • Critics’ Choice Award: Alan Wake II
  • Best Performance Award: Ben Starr, Final Fantasy XVI
  • Best Supporting Performance Award: Neil Newborn, Astarion, Baldur’s Gate 3
  • Nintendo Game of the Year: The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom
  • PC Game of the Year: Baldur’s Gate 3
  • Xbox Game of the Year: Starfield
  • PlayStation Game of the Year: Resident Evil 4
  • Most Anticipated Game: Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth
  • Definitive Game of the Year: Baldur’s Gate 3

So, do you agree with the award? Tell us what your favorite games of the year are on our social media!


Leave a Reply